This is Positively Nowhere

Considering how close I reside to the hub of the universe, it’s pretty amazing that I live on the edge of nowhere.  Ironically, I can drive to D.C. in two hours, and yet I’m a 20-minute drive from everything. By, “everything,” I mean places like a grocery store which has more than three aisles, a dine-in restaurant, or any place that sells printer ink.

Yes, I do check my list twice.

I’m lucky that I even have a DSL internet connection. Another mile or two down the road, and I’d be out of luck.  Fios? Not in this lifetime.

In the course of a day, I’m far and away more likely to see deer than I am my (distant) neighbors. I can watch bald eagles from my yard.  I’ve seen everything from raccoons to foxes to coyotes roaming around, including what I call a foxoyote.  Not sure what that creature really was.

If I even hear a car, it means I have a visitor.  And, my mailbox is 1/3 of mile from my house.

My hometown makes Mayberry look like a bustling metropolis.  There isn’t even a single stoplight in all of what counts as downtown.  We have a post office, a fire department, a library, a garage, a pharmacy and a general store/garage.  The sidewalks are rolled up promptly at 5 pm.  The town is closed on Sunday.

And, I love it.

While this might sound like a bucolic gulag to someone accustomed to having Thai food delivered, I can’t imagine living shoulder-to-shoulder in a suburban sprawl. Life in a city would be far more activity than I could stand for very long.

Sure, there are trade-offs.  We don’t have any museums. But, we do have a river nearby and I love to go fishing. I also enjoy geocaching, and that’s practically everywhere.

Entertainment is what you make of it.  I don’t even have cable, but then again, I don’t want it. And I sure don’t want the monthly bill, either.

But, don’t take away my internet.

After all, I’m not Amish.

About Linda Childers

There's so much interesting stuff out there that just flies under the radar. Until I read about it, that is, and then I just have to share the wackiness.
This entry was posted in The Rural Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Add your two cents!

