The Snake in the Washer

As promised, here’s the story of how a snake got into my washing machine.

Around nine o’clock or so one night, I heard an odd sound in the laundry room. Like something scraping over cardboard, followed by a hollow, metallic thump. It sort of sounded like a small bag of sand being dropped onto the top of the dryer.

I flipped on the light just in time to see the tail of a black snake disappear between the tub and the body of the washer. Yes, I’m quite sure it wasn’t a shadow. After I closed my mouth, I slammed down the washer lid.

Okay, so I had the snake trapped in my washing machine. Now what? I went into the living room and told my husband there was a snake in the washing machine. Yeah, and I got that look. But, he’s a sport and went and looked in the machine. He got the flashlight and really did look.

Then came the question, how on Earth did a snake even get into the house, let alone into the washing machine?

Oh, but then there was the question, could the snake get out of the washing machine? Then what?!? That’s when I considered where I would be staying until it was found.

But then I had another thought. Hey, the snake is in the washer. Turn on the water. So, I ran the washer through a cycle, hoping to see Mr. Snake floating in the tub. But, noooo!

Well, the last I saw of it, it was between the tub and the body of the washer. So, maybe it was trapped in the boxy part. But, maybe there was a hole in the boxy part and maybe it could get out after all.

Crimony! How was I supposed to sleep? There was no door to the laundry room to close. I had a brainstorm. I sprinkled baking soda on the floor all around the washer, and made sure there was extra on the threshold which led to the hallway and my bedroom.

At least this way, if the snake did escape the washer, I would know and at least have a clue as to where to look for it.

The next day, my husband pulled out the washer and we looked inside, expecting that the creature had either curled up for a nap or was lying in wait, plotting its escape. But, no snake.

Geez, I think that might’ve been even worse than actually finding it. My husband was now positive that I had seen nothing more than a shadow. But, I know what I saw, and I do know what a snake tail looks like, thank you very much.

So, where did it go? We never did find out. Either it managed to get out of a very small (now-patched) hole by the drain pipe, or it left via the drain pipe itself when the washer drained.

Of course, my husband just had to go and mention that if it was in the water pipes that it could get into the toilet, in the next room. Oh, great.
I decided that he was making a very bad joke, but you know I looked twice before I sat on the throne.

It took a few weeks before I would reach into the washer without looking very carefully at what I was actually grabbing in the laundry.

But, it didn’t take that long for me to figure out how it had gotten into the house in the first place. I had cleaned off a shelf which had a bunch of caps and hats on it, and I had put them in a cardboard box and had them setting outside, as I dusted off and sorted them into a keep pile and a trash pile. They were on my deck under a tree. And, they were out there all day as I was doing other things.

My best guess is that the snake plopped down, out of the tree, and into the box. I took the box in the house and set it on the dryer. The house became dark and quiet. Maybe the snake got thirsty and went in search of water. And, voila, I see the tail disappear.

Just another day on Sassafrass Hill.

About Linda Childers

There's so much interesting stuff out there that just flies under the radar. Until I read about it, that is, and then I just have to share the wackiness.
This entry was posted in The Rural Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Add your two cents!

